Tammineni Sitaram Unanimously Elected As Speaker of AP Assembly

Tammineni Sitharam (64) - Sakshi Post

Amaravati: Tammineni Sitharam (64) was unanimously elected as the Speaker of the Andhra Pradesh Assembly on Thursday.

Protem Speaker S Appala Naidu conducted the election procedure. Thirty MLAs of YSR Congress Party proposed Tammineni's name after which he was formally announced as the new speaker. After his election, Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy formally invited him to the Speaker's Chair and the protem speaker handed over the charge to him as the new Speaker of the AP Assembly

Also Read: 15th AP Assembly Session Day 1 Highlights

Tammineni Sitharam a BC leader will be the third Speaker from the Srikakulam district to be elected as speaker. Earlier Thangi Satyanarayana and K Pratibha Bharathi were elected as the speakers of the erstwhile Andhra Pradesh Assembly.

A law graduate by qualification, Tammineni started was a director of a sugar factory in his hometown , before taking the plunge into politics. Sitaram is a six-time legislator from Amudalavalasa constituency in Srikakulam district. He was first elected as MLA in 1983 when the TDP was founded. After winning his second stint in 1985, Sitaram lost the 1989 election. He, however, won two back-to-back elections in 1994 and 1999.

After losing 2004 elections, Sitaram joined the PRP founded by actor Chiranjeevi. However he lost again in 2009. Sitaram then switched over to YSRCP but had to face another defeat in 2014. YSRCP chief YS Jagan reposed faith in Sitaram inspite of him losing three successive elections and fielded him as party candidate from Amudalavalasa in 2019 elections, which Sitaram won and regained his seat.

Also Read: AP Assembly Sessions Kick Off With YS Jagan’s Swearing-in As MLA

Watch: Tammineni Sitaram Third Speaker From Srikakulam

Also Read: Jana Sena MLA Lauds YS Jagan For Honouring Social Justice

whatsapp channel

Read More:

Back to Top