LS Polls 2019: YSRCP Stands Tall In Machilipatnam

YSRCP Stands Tall In Machilipatnam - Sakshi Post

Machilipatnam /Krishna: Machilipatnam Parliamentary Constituency is located in Krishna district of Andhra Pradesh. As per the estimates of 2011 census, out of a total 18,25,184 population 68.99% is rural and 31.01% is urban.

As per the voter list of 2018, there are 12,62,385 electorates and 1603 polling stations in this constituency.

Voter turnout in the 2014 Parliamentary election was 83.48% where as it was 83.6% in 2009 Parliamentary Election.

The INC, the TDP and the YSRCP got 1.24%, 51.47% and 44.36% votes respectively in 2014-parliamentary election while the BJP, the INC and the TDP got 1.03%, 38% and 39.19% in 2009-parliamentary election respectively.

Machilipatnam Lok Sabha constituency comprises seven Assembly segments - Machilipatnam, Pedana, Gudivada, Gannavaram, Penamaluru, Pamarru and Avanigadda.

Konakalla Narayana Rao (TDP) is the present Lok Sabha MP from Machilipatnam Parliamentary Constituency. Konakalla Narayana Rao defeated YSRCP’s Kolusu Parthasarathy by over 80,000 votes in 2014.

While the TDP has re-nominated Narayana Rao for the seat, YSRCP selected former MP Vallabhaneni Balashowry as its candidate.

Once a Congress stronghold which won the seat consecutively for nine times from 1959 to 2004, its fortunes waned with the Telugu Desam Party gaining hold. Main issues like clean drinking water, irrigation, civic amenities, drainage systems and employment need to be tackled here.

The locals say that the ruling TDP had promised them the moon, but did precious little on the ground. All it did was indulge in gimmicks like clearing the Machilipatnam deep water port file in the last minute and laying the foundation stone only in February.

Touted to provide employment to the locals, the party had promised this in its 2014 campaign but the foundation stone was laid only in February, which could be a major negative point in the TDP’s account.

YSRCP Vallabbhaneni Balashowry a businessman and a former MP of Tenali Lok Sabha Constituency is a local and was part of the Defence and Commerce Committees in the Centre during his stint as an MP.

A powerful politician from the same Guntur region there is a possibility of the voters to swing from the TDP to the YSRCP this time in 2019.

Also Read: The Ongole LS Bull Fight 2019: YSRCP Magunta Srinivasulu Reddy Ahead

Read More:

Back to Top