Telangana Polls 2018: Will Devarakadra Remain A Congress Bastion?

Devarakadra constituency - Sakshi Post

Devarakadra constituency is currently held by Alla Venkateshwar Reddy of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), who defeated his rival Pavan Kumar of the Congress, by just under 17,000 votes in the 2014 assembly elections. Devarakadra was first known as Athmakur constituency and later became Amarchinta constituency.

After the delimitation exercise undertaken in 2009, it became Devarakadra constituency.

In 2014, the voter turnout was more than 70%, and it is expected that it will go up this time with heightened interest around the elections.

Devarakadra has nearly 1,88,000 voters, and has been seen as a Congress bastion, though Seetha Dayakar Reddy had won the Devarakadra seat in 2009 on a TDP ticket.

The Mahakutami or Grand Alliance may prove to be a spoiler for the TRS candidate, with the consolidation of votes against him. Fingers crossed on Devarakadra.

Also Read: Telangana Elections 2018: Congress To Announce Final List Of Candidates On Friday

Read More:

Back to Top