Jayalalitha to sworn in as CM on Saturday

Jayalalitha to sworn in as CM on Saturday - Sakshi Post

Jayalalithaa set to return as Tamil Nadu Chief Minister for the fifth time after she was formally elected the leader of AIADMK Legislature party. She will sworn in as CM at 11 am on Saturday.

Governor K Rosaiah invited her to form the government soon after her election, following which incumbent Chief Minister O Panneerselvam tendered his resignation. Jayalalitha soon met Governor Rosaiah and handed over the list of ministers to him.
At an early morning meeting of the MLAs presided over by chairman of the party presidium E Madusudanan, 67-year-old Jayalalithaa was unanimously elected as AIADMK Legislature Party Leader following her acquittal by the Karnataka High Court in a disproportionate assets case.
Panneerselvam, also the party treasurer, moved a resolution proposing her name as the Legislature Party leader which was seconded by Electricity Minister Natham R Vishwanathan and adopted unanimously. The announcement was greeted with a thunderous applause and soon celebrations broke out in various parts of the state which was claimed to have witnessed a spate of suicides following Jayalalithaa's conviction. A beaming Cooperative Minister, Sellur K Raju, later said, This is the happiest day of our life. In the resolution moved by him, Panneerselvam heaped praise on his leader, calling her gold refined in fire and described her as the 'permanent General Secretary' of AIADMK.
Expressing solidarity with Jayalalithaa, rebel MLAs of the opposition DMDK, including R Sundarrajan, Tamil Azhagan, K Pandiarajan, and R Santhi, participated in the AIADMK Legislature Party meeting.

Read More:

Back to Top