1st Session Of 15th AP Legislative Assembly: What To Expect

AP Legislative Assembly Building - Sakshi Post

Amaravati: The first session of 15th Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly will commence here at 11.05 AM on Wednesday.

To begin with, the Protem Speaker Sambangi Appala Naidu will administer the oath to 174 YSRCP and TDP MLAs who recently won the Assembly elections. On Thursday, the Assembly Secretariat will issue a notification for the election of Speaker

The newly elected members will take oath on June 12 and 13. On June 13, the members will elect the Speaker.

Also Read: BJP Wants YSRCP Leader As Deputy Lok Sabha Speaker?

Speaker post

The YSRCP has chosen senior legislator Tammineni Sitaram from Srikakulam district for the Speakers post and he is expected to be elected unanimously.

Deputy Speaker post

The YSRCP announced that the Deputy Speaker's post would be given to a legislator from the Brahmin community. Second time MLA Kona Raghupati from Guntur district is tipped to become the Deputy Speaker of Assembly.

The Business Advisory Committee of the Assembly will be constituted possibly on Wednesday, which will then decide on the duration of the session and the date for presentation of the state Budget for 2019-20.

In February, the previous government had adopted only a vote-on-account because of the impending general elections.

Government Chief Whip

G Srikanth Reddy, who has been appointed as Government Chief Whip in the Assembly, met Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy here Tuesday evening and discussed about the session.

Governor E S L Narasimhan

Governor E S L Narasimhan will address a joint session of the Legislative Assembly and the Council on June 14.

The new Assembly came into being last month after the general elections. The YSR Congress Party won 151 of the total of 175 seats in the House.

The Telugu Desam Party, which was in power last time, had to be content with just 23 MLAs now.The Jana Sena won one seat.

Former Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu, who has been elected as leader of Telugu Desam Legislature Party, will become the Leader of the Opposition.

Also Read: Security Beefed Up As Andhra Pradesh Assembly Sessions To Begin Tomorrow

Watch: AP Assembly Session From Tomorrow

Read More:

Back to Top