Interesting Fight In Nizamabad Urban, Banswada Could Stay With TRS

Pocharam Srinivas Reddy participating in the campaign - Sakshi Post

Nizamabad (Urban) assembly constituency is in Nizamabad district and one among the two constituencies in the city of Nizamabad.  The seat falls under the Nizamabad Lok Sabha constituency.

Bigala Ganesh of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) represented the constituency in the recently dissolved House. He won the 2014 election with 42,148 votes against Mir Majaz Ali Shaik of All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) who bagged 31,840 votes.

Telangana Rashtra Samithi is once again fielding its candidate, Bigala Ganesh hoping for a victory.  On the other hand Taher Bin Hamdan is contesting from the Congress. The BJP has fielded a strong candidate, Endala Lakshminarayana, who will thicken the election plot here.

Nizamabad (Urban) assembly constituency has been mostly won by the Congress and independents in the previous elections.

Banswada assembly constituency is in Nizamabad district of Telangana and falls under the Zaheerabad Parliamentary constituency. In the dissolved House, Pocharam Srinivas Reddy from the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) represented the constituency.

Pocharam Srinivas Reddy defeated Congress candidate Kasula Balaraju with a margin of 23,930 votes.  Srinivas Reddy secured 65,868 votes while Balaraju got 41,938 votes. Banswada is a TRS stronghold as of now.

He has won five times from the same constituency before. He even resigned for his post during the Telangana Separate State movement and switched over to the Telangana Rashtra Samithi in 2011. In the bypolls conducted he came back to power, with a huge majority of nearly 50,000 votes.

Srinivas Reddy is once again the candidate of TRS for the constituency, going to contest against Kasula Balaraju from Congress. This constituency is stronghold of TRS, which might pull it off this time, with out much hassle.

Nizamabad (Rural) assembly constituency in Nizamabad district is one among the two constituencies in the city of Nizamabad. Nizamabad (rural) comes under Nizamabad Lok Sabha constituency.

Bajireddy Goverdhan of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) won the election in 2014 with 78,107 votes polled for him. His closest opponent was D. Srinivas from the Congress party with 51,560 votes of the total 2,24,396 votes. In the upcoming elections, TRS has once again placed its trust in Bajireddy Goverdhan, hoping a victory.  On the other hand Congress candidate, Dr Rekula Bhupathi Reddy is a strong contender and it will be interesting to see how this plays out. This constituency was formed in 2009 . Since then TDP and TRS have won it once each.

Also Read: Yellareddy, Tough To Predict

Also Read: East Or West, Warangal No More TRS Fortress?

Read More:

Back to Top