Medchal Constituency: Winning Candidate’s Ticket to Cabinet

 - Sakshi Post

Hyderabad: Medchal assembly constituencies is one of the ‘lucky’ segments which has assured a ministerial berth for former chief minister Marri Chenna Reddy and Devender Goud in the erstwhile Andhra Pradesh elections. 

In undivided state, all the candidates who contested the elections from this assembly segment were made ministers in the then government. Before the formation of a new Telangana state, Medchal was the second largest assembly constituency after Khairatabad segment. 

Medchal assembly constituency would comprise of Kukatpally (partially), Quthbullapur, Uppal and LB Nagar (partially). However, following the bifurcation of the state, the assembly constituency was split into three segments. 

The assembly constituency came into existence in 1962. The freedom fighter Vandemataram Ram Chander Rao contested in the first assembly elections as an independent candidate from this constituency. He defeated Congress candidate KV Ranga Reddy in the polls. 

The assembly segment was reserved for the SC category from 1967 to 1972. Congress candidate Sumitra Devi won the elections twice and represented the Medchal constituency in the state assembly. 

In 1978, Marri Chenna Reddy won the elections from Medchal segment and became a chief minister of united Andhra Pradesh. In 1983, Congress candidate Uma Devi, wife of late Telangana leader Singireddy Venkataram Reddy, defeated the TDP rival despite NTR registering a landslide victory in the elections. 

During the 1983 bypolls, the TDP candidate Kommuredy Surendar Reddy, hailing from Korremulu village of Ghatkesar mandal won the by-election and found his place in NTR cabinet. 

In the 1989 elections, Uma Devi was re-elected on Congress ticket and became a minister. In subsequent elections, the TDP candidate Devender Goud won the polls from the Medchal seat consecutively for three terms. He defeated Congress candidate Uma Devi (1994), Singireddy Harivardhan Reddy (1999) and TRS (now BRS) candidate Surendar Reddy (2004). He went on to become a minister in NTR and Chandrababu Naidu’s cabinets. 

After the formation of Telangana state, Congress candidate K Laxma Reddy defeated TDP rival Nakka Prabhakar Reddy from Medchal assembly segment in the 2004 Assembly elections. In 2014 polls, Malipeddi Sudheer Reddy defeated TDP candidate T Jangaiah and represented Medchal constituency in the Telangana Assembly

Also Read: Naidu Scripted Multi-crore Skill Development Scam: Sajjala 

Read More:

Back to Top