Sangareddy, A Key Constituency To Look Out For  

Representational Image - Sakshi Post

While Sangareddy may not exactly be a bell-weather constituency, it is the gateway to neighbouring Medak district, which is an all-important region and a Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) stronghold. In the recently dissolved assembly, Chintha Prabhakar of the TRS held the seat.

While Prabhakar defeated T. Jayaprakash of the Congress by a margin of over 29,000 votes in 2014, it must be pointed out that he was riding a popular wave in favour of the TRS, which helped the party storm to power.

The Mahakutami or Grand Alliance may not have much of an impact on the local electorate, though the seat had long been a Congress bastion. Former Speaker of the erstwhile AP assembly, P. Ramachandra Reddy was a five-term MLA from Sangareddy. It has 2,12,858 voters and as things stand, could go the TRS way in spite of the anti-incumbency element.

Also Read: Will Mahakutami Wrest Kollapur From Jupally Krishna Rao?

Read More:

Back to Top