Telangana Assembly Elections in Numbers: 3.26 Cr Voters to Cast Their Vote Tomorrow

 - Sakshi Post

Hyderabad: The Election Commission is conducting the third assembly election after the formation of Telangana state. The term of the Telangana Assembly which began on January 15, 2019 is coming to an end on January 16, 2024.  The single phase polling is scheduled to be held across all the 119 constituencies on Thursday, November 30 while the counting of votes along with Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Mizoram states will be taken up  on Sunday, December 3.    

Total total number eligible voters

According to data released by the Election Commission, there are a total of 3.26 crore voters in Telangana. Of these, 1.62 crore male voters, 1.63 crore female voters, 2,557 transgender voters and 15,406 are service voters (individuals with a service qualification, including members of the armed forces, armed police force of a state or central government employees). 

There will be around 9,99,667 first-time voters (18-19 years) in the state. Of these, 5,70,274 male voters, 4,29,273 female voters and 120 are transgender voters. There are 5,06,921 differently-abled voters (persons with disabilities). Of these, 2,380 male voters, 563 female voters and one transgender voter. 

Introduction of Home voting facility for senior citizens

Of the total eligible voters, 86 percent are below the age of 59 while 4,40,371 voters are above 80 years of age. For the first time, the Election Commission has introduced a vote-from-home facility in Telangana elections. The facility has been made available in three categories: 80 plus senior citizens, Persons with Disabilities (PwD) and essential services.

Highest and lowest number of registered voters regions

Hyderabad has the highest number of voters —  45,36,852 voters while Bhadrachalam (Bhadradri Kothagudem district) has the lowest number of voters which stands at 1,48,713.  

Total candidates in the fray

A total of 4,798 candidates have filed their nominations for the Telangana Assembly elections. After the scrutiny of submitted documents, 2,898 nominations were approved while 698 nominations were withdrawn leaving 2,290 candidates in the fray for the November 30 polls. LB Nagar (Ranga Reddy district) tops the list with 48 candidates contesting the elections while Gajwel and Kamareddy, the constituencies where chief minister KCR is contesting from, have 44 and 39 candidates in the fray respectively.   

Polling arrangements

A total of 35,655 polling stations have been set up across the state where voters will exercise their franchise on Thursday. Of these, 27,097 (78 percent) polling booths are webcasting-enabled centres, 597 for women, 644 model polling stations and 120 for differently-abled voters. The EC has appointed 67 general observers and 39 police observers for the Telangana elections. While the State Election Commission has deployed 2.08 lakh personnel for election duties. .

According to the election commission, the voting process will begin at 7 am and end at 5 pm while the polling will end at 4 pm in sensitive areas. To ensure safety and transparency in the polling process, section 144 will be imposed at all polling stations. The EC officials have identified 4,400 troubled areas in 13 assembly segments. The EC officials will start a mock polling process for the polling staff at 5.30 am on the polling day.  

Also Read: Hardcore TDP Supporter Takes U-Turn, Becomes Harsh Critic

whatsapp channel

Read More:

Back to Top