Congress names chiefs of Seemandhra, Telangana units

Congress names chiefs of Seemandhra, Telangana units - Sakshi Post

Hyderabad, The Congress Tuesday named N Raghuveera Reddy and Ponnala Lakshmaiah as the presidents of its Seemandhra and Telangana units respectively.

Uttam Kumar Reddy will be the working president of Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee, according to a statement released by the party in the national capital.

With the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh, the Congress formed separate committees for the two states.

Botsa Satyanaryana, who was heading party unit of undivided Andhra Pradesh, was not given any key position in the panel announced for Seemandhra or residuary state of Andhra Pradesh. He, however, was named as member of the campaign committee for Seemandhra.

Raghuveera Reddy, Lakshamaiah and Uttam Reddy were ministers in the cabinet of Kiran Kumar Reddy, who resigned as chief minister last month to protest the state's division.

The party named central minister K Chiranjeevi as chairman of the campaign committee in Seemandhra. Former state minister D Manikya Varaprasad will be co-chairman. Senior leader Anam Ramnarayana Reddy will head the manifesto committee. Central minister Pannabaka Lakshmi is co-chairperson.

Former Andhra Pradesh deputy chief minister Damodar Rajanarasimha has been appointed as the chairman of the campaign committee for Telangana. Mohammed Ali Shabbir is the co-chairman.

Former minister D Sridhar Babu will head the manifesto committee. Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka has been appointed as co-chairman.

Congress president Sonia Gandhi constituted two committees after consultations with senior leaders including general secretary Digvijaya Singh. She telephoned Raghuveera Reddy, who was in Anantapur, to congratulate him on his appointment.

Lakshmaiah and Uttam Kumar Reddy were present in the national capital.

Raghuveera Reddy told reporters in Anantapur that he is taking up the responsibility at a difficult time. He vowed to strengthen the party with the support of all leaders and workers of the party.

Read More:

Back to Top