State Assembly says no to Telangana Bill

State Assembly says no to Telangana Bill - Sakshi Post

Hyderabad, The Andhra Pradesh assembly, by a voice vote Thursday, rejected the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill 2013 on creating a separate Telangana state.

Amid protests by legislators from Telangana, Speaker Nadendla Manohar announced that a resolution moved by Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy for rejecting the bill was carried and adjourned the house sine-die.

The chief minister, in his resolution, has urged President Pranab Mukherjee not to refer the bill to parliament as it seeks to bifurcate the state without any reason and consensus and in utter disregard to linguistic and cultural homogeneity and economic and administrative viability.

The speaker also announced that he would be forwarding to the President the views expressed by 86 members who participated in the debate and also the written speeches submitted by other members.

Manohar said 9,072 amendments to the bill moved by the members would also form part of the official record.

The dramatic announcement by the speaker came after two adjournments since morning as legislators from Telangana stalled the proceedings demanding him to reject the notice given by the chief minister.

The President had referred the bill to the state legislature Dec 12 for its opinion under Article 3 of the Constitution. The bill was tabled Dec 16 but could not be taken up for debate for several days due to protests by Seemandhra lawmakers, opposing state's bifurcation.

{module Poll}



whatsapp channel

Read More:

Back to Top