NTR brings all parties, except TDP, together

NTR brings all parties, except TDP, together - Sakshi Post

* TDP stands isolated in the house

In what could be seen as a blow to the TDP government led by Chandrababu Naidu, The Telangana Assembly on Friday passed a resolution against renaming of Shamsabad domestic terminal after former Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N T Rama Rao.

The Assembly witnessed uproarious scenes over the move of the Union Civil Aviation Ministry, headed by TDP's Ashok Gajapathi Raju, to rename the domestic terminal.
The ruling party and Congress members rejected the proposal and demanded that the Union government to take back this decision.
The Congress leaders alleged that though the state was bifurcated, the state of Andhra Pradesh was still trying to lord over the Telangana state.
Rejecting the proposal sent by Union Aviation minister Ashok Gajapati Raju, KCR moved a resolution and all the parties expect TDP and BJP unanimously supported the resolution.
While the BJP party proposed that Komaram Bheem or PV Narasimha Rao's name should be considered if name has to be changed, MIM wanted the airport to be named after Baba Sharfuddin, a Muslim saint who lived in that area. YSR Congress party floor leader Thati Venkateshwarulu also demanded Komaram Bheem name for the Shamshabad airport if it has to be changed.
KCR said "We don't want Andhra leader's names in Telangana. When the public are demanding to remove the present names here, it is unfair to have a new name( NTR) for Shamsabad domestic terminal."
He advised the AP Government that there are four airports in AP and all of them can be named after NTR. "We will name after our leaders if in case we go for renaming," KCR said and found fault with the Central government taking the decision without seeking the government's opinion.


Read More:

Back to Top