Telangana MLC Graduate Elections Begin

 - Sakshi Post

Elections will be held today for two graduate legislative constituencies in the state. Hyderabad-Rangareddy-Mahabubnagar, Nallagonda-Khammam-Warangal polling will be held on Sunday from 8 am to 4 pm. With 93 candidates in the fray from the ‘Hyderabad’ council seat and 71 candidates from the ‘Nallagonda’ seat in the ring, polling is being conducted using huge size ballot papers and jumbo ballot boxes like never before. There were 5,31,268 registered voters in Hyderabad and 5,05,565 in Nalgonda. Webcasting was facilitated at polling stations in sensitive areas.

The MLC graduate elections have started in constituencies Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad and Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda. Voters are queuing up to cast their votes to decide the winners. The polling will be held till 4 pm, on Sunday.

The interest this MLC election has generated is perhaps unprecedented, with the opposition, particularly the BJP, trying to prove a point that they still have political relevance in the State. But their campaign strategy was mostly confined to the vilification of ruling party leaders, mudslinging at its worst that could boomerang on them.

The TRS, on the other hand, not only stole a march over the opposition by getting off the block first, but it also focused on explaining the government’s achievements on various fronts and some plans for the future too. The opposition all along harped on the TRS government alleged failure in fulfilling its poll promise of generating employment and filling vacancies in government departments.

From the TRS camp, Palla Rajeshwar Reddy is seeking a second term from the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda graduates constituency while Surabhi Vani Devi, daughter of former Prime Minister late PV Narasimha Rao, will be testing her electoral waters from the Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad graduates constituency. Vani Devi’s candidature announced by Chief Minister KCR was seen as a brilliant political move that unsettled the opposition. Both candidates are educationists and have good credentials.

Polling for both the MLC seats will be held from 8 am to 4 pm while counting of votes is scheduled to take place on March 17. Incidentally, this is the first time that such a large number of candidates are testing their fate from these two MLC seats since the State formation. While 93 candidates are contesting from the Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad constituency, 71 candidates are in the fray from the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda constituency. All the major political parties, including TRS, Congress and BJP, are taking these elections as a prestige issue.

Also Read: KTR Does A Fact Check On BJP Claims Against Telangana Government

Read More:

Back to Top