Telangana Polls: Will Andole Assembly Seat Prove Lucky Charm for Winning Party Yet Again?

 - Sakshi Post

Hyderabad: As the polling date for Telangana Assembly elections is fast approaching, people have once again started discussing this particular constituency in Telangana’s Upper region as this is considered as a lucky charm for any party which is hoping to grab power in the state polls. 

Yes, we’re talking about Andole constituency which falls under Medak district  and is reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates. As per the previous trends, whoever wins the Andole Assembly seat, his or her party will form the next government in the state.  

The Assembly constituency has continued to be a predictor of next ruling party even after the erstwhile Andhra Pradesh state was bifurcated and new state Telangana was formed. Since 1957, Andole constituency has successfully projected the next government 13 out of 15 times. Only two times - 1957 and 1983 - when the winning party failed to form the government. 

Sitting MLA Chanti Kranthi Kiran from BRS and former Deputy Chief Minister Damodar Narasimha are in the fray for Andole seat. The BJP is yet to declare its candidate for the constituency. The state BSP chief RS Praceen Kumar has announced Mupparam Prakash as party candidate from Andole constituency. 

Congress dominance on Andole seat 

The Andole seat was formed in 1952 but converted into Scheduled Caste (SC) reserved constituency in 1967. From 1952 to 1985, Congress candidates dominated the constituency and subsequently formed the government. However, in 1985, Malyala Rajaiah won the Andole seat on a TDP ticket. The Congress candidate Damodar Narasimha wrested the seat from Rajaiah  in 1989 elections. Out of 15 elections, Congress candidate won eight times, TDP four times, independent candidate one time and BRS candidates two times won the seat. Andole assembly constituency has 2,25,714 voters including 1,12,658 male voters and 1.13,646 female voters.  

Also Read: Meet Rukmini Kota: New Power Center In Jana Sena

whatsapp channel

Read More:

Back to Top